tear in part

And so you’re dead.
when last time I checked,
you called me names
after I left.

So why an invitation?
as well as the request,
my part in presentation?

Did you believe,
I would want to see
how much love
you left with others?

Or that to hear,
you did good for others?

Because I don’t.
Nor do I care.

Even when it’s my turn
to see your body,
it’s just a cold stare.

But you never did care either.
on how I feel,
what I need,
when I plead,
except who I’m with –
when with others.

Why now?
with your last letter for me,
with the one word “sorry”.

What now?
our dearest memories
resurface in me,
when I had them buried deep.

Still, I won’t forgive you.
although you won’t know
or can care anymore.

Still, I can’t forget you.
even after death,
I cannot get over that tear.

Leave a Reply

